Back to the list

Bittrex doesn’t block every single Russian after all

Bittrex, a cryptocurrency exchange, is not blocking all its Russian users just because the country’s state-backed companies are under sanctions, as explained in the e-mails and comments following the latest statement of the organization.

The initial statement of Bittrex made some Russian users and even observers think that this organization is blocking all countries the United States has sanctioned, but in reality, the exchange is not working with the users from the following embargoed countries and regions:

  • Syria
  • Crimea
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Cuba

Also, Bittrex keeps in touch with the list of sanctioned individuals, so notorious hackers or war criminals will also fail to use the services of this exchange.

Amusingly enough, these regions have already been mentioned in the older version of the rules of this cryptocurrency trading platform, but it’s only this time it has caused a confusion in the community.

It’s very likely that other major cryptocurrency organizations based in America will also not work with countries under embargo. As a matter of fact, they do not even have to tell about this to the audience.

Back to the list